About the Club

 

 

Selkirk Golf Course

Golf has been played over the Selkirk hill since the club was founded in 1883.    The present course was laid out in 1924, by Musselburgh's Willie Park, with the clubhouse moving to its new site in 1927.    Overlooking the town the golf club provides spectacular views over the Linglie Hills and the distant rolling hills of Ettrick & Yarrow.  

A traditional 9 hole heathland course which runs along the side of Selkirk hill with heather, gorse and slopes making it a fair test for all levels of golfer.   Nine unique holes with generous fairways bounded by heather and gorse, and greens maintained to a high standard.    

There are some very picturesque holes, with the dog leg 5th being the signature hole and probably the favourite of most visitors, but the par five 8th and par three 9th are also very lovely.    The eighth or 'Long Hole' is well known throughout the borders and consists of a drive into a narrow valley which allows you to place a second shot safely on the fairway, leaving a short pitch to a green hidden by mounds and hollows.    

Panoramic views of the Borders are obtained from the top of the course and it is considered to be one of the most magnificent natural courses to be played, with great views and a good feel.    The course itself is kept in very good condition, with excellently maintained fairways and smooth greens.

The clubhouse has changing facilities, a shower and toilets.

9 holes, 5575 yards, SSS68, PAR 68