Yarrowford Shield Round No. 2 - 30.9.17

The second round of the Yarrowford Shield was played on Saturday, 30th September, 2017, in rather inclement weather with heavy showers and strong winds.      A total of 35 members took part and the leader on the day with a very good score of 85 (20) 65 was Dennis Smith, who was followed by two players on nett 67, these being Bruce Bett on 74 (7) 67 (bih); and Les McAllister on 70(3) 67.      Other notable scores were Rodney Pow and Billy Macdonald on 68; with Paul McVie; Jock Easson and Iain Clark on 69.     Four players managed to get a two at the nominated holes and they were Andy Pickersgill & Les McAllister at the 6th, and Ian Potts and Tom Welsh at the 18th, each receiving £8 each for their efforts.      The leaders after 36 holes was Bruce Bett on 136; Graeme Bell on 137 and Donald Ballantyne on 139.      The entry fee was £3 making a total of £105 from the 35 entrants.     With £75 being paid out to the winners, and £22 (plus £10 carried forward) to the 2’s winners, this left £8 for the contingency fund.