Yarrowford Shield Rd.2 - 6.10.18

The second and on this year the final round of the Yarrowford Shield was played on Saturday, 6th October, 2018, in perfect weather, mostly sunny with very light winds.     The winner on the day was Grant Lightfoot with a very good score of 70(5)65(bih); and he was followed on the same score by Scott Galloway also on 70(5)65(2ndbih) and Donald Ballantyne with the lowest scratch score of 67(2)65.     Third prize went to George Grant on a score of 76(10)66.     Seven players managed to get a two at the nominated holes and these were Donald Ballantyne; Gerald Beggs; Mark Easson; Rodney Pow and Jim Rae at the 6th; with Les Rutherford and Ian Stephenson performing the same feat at the 18th, each receiving the princely sum of £2 for their efforts.     The entry fee was £3, making a total of £99 from the 33 entrants.     With £80 being paid out to the winners, and £14 to the 2’s winners, this left £5 for the
contingency fund.     The winner of the Yarrowford Shield, being the player who had the lowest aggregate score over the two rounds was Grant Lightfoot with an aggregate score of 133(bsr); Second was Donald Ballantyne also on 133 and third was Jim Rae on 137.