Monthly Medal, Champ. Qual. No. 1 + The Claret Jug - 1.08.20

A Monthly Medal (sponsored by Buccleuch Cleaners) and Championship Qualifying No. 1; combined with The Claret Jug (Sponsored by Norman Purves) was played on Saturday, 1st August, 2020, on a lovely warm day with a mixture of clouds and sunny periods and light to moderate winds.     The successful contestants were first our new Treasurer Ian Main with a magnificent score of 89(31)58 (although it would appear that the handicap given to him was rather generous, the cards he submitted more than justified the award and he should be congratulated on his achievement - I only hope that he is not discouraged in playing future competitions with a very much reduced handicap).     He was followed in second place by Ranald Wilkie on 72(9)63(bih); and in third on the same score was Ron Robertson on 82(19)63(2nd bih); whilst fourth place was taken by Peter Henderson also on a score of 73(10)63(3rd bih).     In fifth place was Scott Galloway on a score of 70(4)66; and in sixth place was Thomas Bell on 72(5)67(bih).     Prizes of £40; £30; £20; £15: £10 and £5 were awarded to the six winners and of course the Centenary Cup goes to Ian Main.     The lowest gross score of 70(bih) was recorded by our Vice Captain Donald Ballantyne, and he received a prize of £25 for his efforts.     Six of the contestants had the necessary skill to hole out in two at the nominated holes, and these were Eric Middlemas and Gerald McMorrow at the 6th hole; with Ian Potts, Iain Clark, Thomas Bell and Colin Finlay managing the same feat at the 18th;  each of them receiving the sum of £6 each for their efforts.     A total of 64 entrants took part in the competition; the entry fee was £3 each making a total of £192; £145 was paid out in prize money; and with £36 being paid to the two's winners, this left £11 for the contingency fund.   

The leading contenders for the Championship Qualifying were as follows:-

Club Championship - Donald Ballantyne; Scott Galloway; Paul McVie; Thomas Bell; Colin Finlay; Ranald Wilkie; Michael McVie and Iain Clark

'B' Championship    - Peter Henderson; Mark Easson; Mitch Thomson; Les Rutherford; Eric Middlemas; Craig Niven; Norman Purves and Robert Falconer

'C' Championship    - Ron Robertson; Kris MacLeod; Ian Main; Ian Potts; Alan Wheelans; Tom Welsh; Jordan Reid; and Ian Wilkie