The Order of Merit 2020

The Order of Merit is awarded to the player who has accumulated the largest number of points during a selection of the most important competitions played during the course of the year.     In this unprecedented year, because of the season being shortened and many competitions being combined, it was only possible to select twelve (as opposed to the normal thirteen) stroke play events in which entrants could receive qualifying points.     After the cancellation of the Border Safeguard competition last Saturday this was further reduced to eleven.        The contest came to a conclusion after the finish of the eighteen hole event played on Sunday past, and the winner of the trophy was Les Rutherford who acquired 40 points, breasting the tape eight points ahead of his nearest rival Matthew Brass.